jump to navigation

Dear Blog March 13, 2007

Posted by Howard in diary entry.
trackback

Dear Blog,

I write this to you out of concern. It seems of late that this relationship has been more work than it should be. Yes, I think you’re beautiful and you make me laugh, but it seems that’s all you’re willing to give to me. I slave to keep you secure in the lifestyle to which you’ve become accustomed, but when all the work is one-sided, I have to say something.

I apologize for writing a letter and not speaking to you face-to-face, but I wanted to make sure you understood what I’m saying without emotion getting in the way. You know how your callous nature and occasion lack of hits brings me to tears. No, no, to paraphrase David Soul, “I won’t give up on us, baby,” but something has got to change. All these words between us? They are mine and never yours. It’s starting to upset me. I would just like once to be able to take it easy and when I’m tapped out on ideas for you to take up the slack and do something yourself.

The love I feel for us has grown and I want that to continue, but I feel the constant pressure to build you up and all you do is eat a bonbon every time I hit publish; yet, you still get all the glory. “Oooo, look what The Web Pen Blog did!” “Did you see what The Web Pen Blog was wearing today? It was divine!” “That Web Pen Blog is so smart and sophisticated. I don’t know WHY he hangs around that Howard guy.”

I know they are just words, but they hurt because we are so close — almost to the point of being each other. I know you got jealous when I started to hang around with The Monkey Blog and Waking Up With Morning Song, but — honestly — you are my main bitch. Those other two are just friends and that’s all we’ll ever be. It’s you, babe. You are my inspiration. Well, there was Ann Coulter that one time, but it didn’t mean anything! I was just trying to make a point and besides you agreed to it. You wanted to “expand our horizons” and “add some additional flavor” to our relationship and for a time it worked. You got lots of the attention you love, but I can’t keep giving to your spotlight addiction. You have to give something back even if it’s just an occasional idea.

That’s all I’m asking. You can’t just sit there with that smart-ass look on your face as I struggle to keep you growing from the foundation we both laid down. I need you to stop mocking me and belittling me whenever my ideas are flaccid and just won’t work especially in front of our friends. Well, they are your friends now. They don’t return my phone calls anymore. Why do you have to be so cruel? I realize that our modern-day blogging society has certain strict relationship standards and that the divorce rate among our kind can be high; however, we’ve only been at this for almost a year-and-a-half and I need you to stop being a prat — for the sake of our readers at least.

Yours until I can no longer afford the hosting,
Howard

Thanks, Kevin, for the writers’ block breaking idea. No, you can’t have Blog’s phone number.

Listening to: Ain’t No Way To Treat A Lady – Helen Reddy
Helen Reddy - Helen Reddy's Greatest Hits (And More) - Ain't No Way to Treat a Lady

Comments»

1. Kath - March 13, 2007

Hahaha. You said flaccid!

Kath (easily amused today!)

2. Godwhacker - March 13, 2007

Thinking of the song by the Pet Shop Boy “Bet She’s Not Your Girlfriend”.

3. hubs - March 13, 2007

don’t get jealous but your blog has given up plenty to me. this entry reminds me of my breakup letter to summer (way back in ’03, maybe i need to break up with my blog too):

http://www.artifacting.com/blog/2003/09/25/goodbye-summer-girl/

4. Howard - March 13, 2007

Kath:
Hooray, it worked!

Godwhacker:
“You gotta make her happy”

Hubs:
Love that piece! Quite excellent.

5. Hayes - March 13, 2007

I almost thought you were breaking up with dear old Webbie… Would have made my heart sad! Seriously though, that was a great read!

6. Kevin - March 13, 2007

FYI – your blog is moving in with me. We were meant to be together. It was inevitable. Sorry man. Still friends?

7. The Hermit - March 13, 2007

Whew. It sounded like a divorce letter at the start, and I was worried about what would happen to all the little bloggettes that were spawned and/or inspired by Miss Blog….

I bet she behaves after THIS scare….

8. eric - March 14, 2007

Don’t tell your blog, but I like you much better than it. :-)

9. Dan - March 14, 2007

What a great piece of writing! Loved it!

10. Howard - March 14, 2007

Hayes:
Webbie! Love it! Naw, this piece was a creative way of saying “I have nothing to say”.

Kevin:
Still best of friends! In fact, I’m sending some nice-dressed gentlemen over to hit on you because you deserve the ego boast.

Hermit:
They’ll be taken care of. I hold up to MY responsibilities.

Eric:
My lips are sealed!

Dan:
A compliment? Are you feeling okay? :)

11. Anita - March 14, 2007

Wait, you mean there’s somebody that writes The Web Pen Blog? I thought it was just a script, now I’m confused. And all this time I’ve been telling people to go check out the great AI that some guy named Howard developed, and that every once in a while the AI works so well that the posts are even convincingly human.

Nice post, fun idea. ;)

12. Anita - March 14, 2007

Oops, sorry for the double post. My IQ is still hovering in the single digits. Feel free to delete the first post that is awaiting moderation.

13. Howard - March 14, 2007

Done and done. Wait, is this the infamous Anita from the biggest blog success story of 2006 – Say No To Crack visiting my little, ole humor blog?

Excellent!

‘Tis an honor, ma’am.

14. Kath - March 14, 2007

So…since when do you send nice dressed gentlemen over to hit on people?

Ahem.

I personally go for the casual snowboarder-hoodie wearing type, so please choose accordingly.

Range is mid-20’s to mid-30’s. No smokers please!

Lemme know when to expect them, k??

Thanks Love!

15. Misfit Duck - March 15, 2007

I am just using you to get to your blog.

16. Howard - March 15, 2007

Kath:
I put in an order for you months ago! I can’t believe they still haven’t shown up. I’ll check into it.

Duck:
That’s hot.

17. Andy - March 17, 2007

Great piece of writing. The advice I always give on writer’s block is there’s no such thing. It’s just that you can’t write what you want to write, or can’t think what to write. The skills are still there, so I always say: just write. Write anything. Write nonsense, a poem, a prayer, a shopping list. Keep writing and the words will come, and eventually the words you really want to be writing will come… x

18. Howard - March 18, 2007

Good advice. One I sat down with it, I had 4 paragraphs in a few minutes. I just needed motivation.

19. Form The Web Pen Blog « The Accidental Bystander - April 17, 2007

[…] Continue reading here… […]

20. sandrar - September 10, 2009

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

21. angelina jolie - September 10, 2009

I love your site. :) Love design!!! I just came across your blog and wanted to say that I?ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. Sign: ndsam


Leave a Reply

geeksonpolitics

Just another WordPress.com site

fakeormistake

“Nothing is a mistake. There’s no win and no fail, there’s only make.” "Art is for free"

Sunset Boulevard

Writings of a Cinephile

Dan the Man's Movie Reviews

All my aimless thoughts, ideas, and ramblings, all packed into one site!

Dark Genesis

Seeing what others don't

666

dlcxvi

juliansherman

Just another WordPress.com site

Brief Encounters

M/M Romance Short Story Reviews

Three Wise Guys

Best not to think about it

music | ac

The Latest and Greatest

Monkey's Uncle Comedy Improv

Inappropriate. But funny.

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Sick and Sick of It

Having a bad day? Me too.

Today I Watched a Movie

The movie review blog you don't have to read

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

Letters to My Mind

Letters and notes about my developing mindfulness

kerryisblogging

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Mangina Monologues

When the "dude-erus speaks, E.F. Hutton listens.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,170 other followers

